National Sports Festival end as Team Nasarawa sets ficus on Abeokuta 2024

National Sports Festival end as Team Nasarawa sets ficus on Abeokuta 2024

National Sports Festival end as Team Nasarawa sets ficus on Abeokuta 2024

The curtains for the 21st edition of the National Sports Festival, tagged "Delta 2022" were drawn closed on Saturday evening amidst so much funfair and side attractions.

Team Nasarawa ended the sports fiesta with a total of twenty(20) medals, which comprise Seven (7) Silver and Thirteen(13) Bronze Medals respectively, and finished 28th on the Final Medals' Table.

Winners of the Silver medals include Hussaini Ibrahim(Para-Table Tennis Men's Singles), Mohammed Salihu(Men's Para-Powerlifting), Ruth Asuquo(Female Weightlifting), Richard Ebidou(Men's Freestyle Wrestling), Habeeb Obayomi(Men's Boxing), Chioma Ani(Female Karate), and Saidu Ahmadu(Male Karate).

The Bronze medalists include Grace Haruna (Female Judo), Mohammed Salihu (Para-Powerlifting),  Ladi Louisa Iho(Female Taekwondo), Agada Elijah(Male Taekwondo), Agada Elijah, Isah Ahmadu and Agada Ofu(Team Taekwondo), Jennifer Atabwer and Comfort Adakole(Team Golf),  Joy Obanla (Female Kung-Fu), Allu Armstrong (Darts), and Emmanuel Haruna(Wrestling), Salisu Abdullahi (Wrestling).

Others are Shehu Lawal and Sani Yau (Men's Tennis Doubles), Shehu Lawal and Loveth Ogah (Mixed Tennis Doubles), and Dauda Nasiru (Men's Karate).

Hopes of Team Nasarawa defending their Gold medal titles in the 130kg Heavyweight Men's Wrestling category and 42 Kilometres Marathon race were dashed after both competitors, Talaram Mamman and Philibus Sharubutu were struck with ailment and armstring injury separately.

Delta State emerged overall winners of the two-week-long sport meet, scooping a total of 648 Medals, made up of 320 Gold, 200 Silver and 128 Bronze.

Bayelsa State came 2nd with a total of 337 medals, comprising 132 Gold, 115 Silver and 90 Bronze, while Edo State emerged third with a total of 339 medals, comprising 78 Gold, 94 Silver and 167 Bronze.

Ogun State, South-West Nigeria, was announced by President Muhammadu Buhari who was represented by the Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Hon. Sunday Dare, as next host of the National Sports Festival billed for 2024.

Oyo State was also announced as 'stand-by' State should Ogun be unable to show readiness one year to the Event.

Post a Comment

Idan kuna da tambaya akan abinda Baku game ba ko kuma kuma Neman littafin da babu a nan kawai ku ajiye tambayarku a ta comment ko wani shawara da Zaku bamu.

Previous Post Next Post

Sponsored Link

Sponsored Post